Royal Sites of Ireland: new website & survey

Posted By :
Comments : 0

In 2010 the Royal Sites of Ireland, a group of six unique collectives of largely prehistoric monuments and sites associated in early medieval and medieval sites as the principal ancient sites of royal inauguration in Ireland, was placed on Ireland’s Tentative World Heritage List.

Spread throughout the island, four of the sites represent the ancient Kingdoms of Ireland and its current provinces of North (Emain Macha), South (Rock of Cashel), East (Dún Ailline) and West (Rathcroghan). Tara was the seat of the High Kings of Ireland situated in the ancient ‘fifth’ province of Meath (Midhe) while the Hill of Uisneach the ‘omphalos’ or centre was where the 5 kingdoms met.

The relevant Local Authorities of Kildare, Meath, Westmeath, Roscommon and Armagh, Banbridge and Craigavon, with Tipperary as Lead Authority have been working together during the lifetime of the last Tentative List to develop and evaluate the case for ‘outstanding universal value’.

The Department of Housing, Local Government and Heritage are currently reviewing the national tentative list therefore the Royal Sites Group must reapply to remain on Ireland’s Tentative List.

In order to facilitate engagement with all stakeholders in this challenging  time of Covid, a website www.royalsites.ie was recently launched, to update people as we progress but also to allow people feed into the process.
The website has a survey which runs for the month of May and all are encouraged to complete the survey.

Website: www.royalsites.ie

About the Author

Leave a Reply